News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Why are the GBAtroids soo unpopular?

Started by Amorsis, October 06, 2016, 01:31:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Amorsis

After fiddling with Hexeditors and code, Ive got a garbled mess. But I took satisfaction in it because Im still learning how to do ROM hacking. Especially with Metroid Zero Mission. Im not that big a fan of Fusion because it was wayyy too linear. But it still brought the satisfaction of beating it at the end just like with MZM. Which brings me to my question.

Why doesnt anyone hack Metroid Zero Mission or Fusion?

Theres only two really known people working on either of them. I see recreations with SM, and M2, but nothing with MZM or MF.
I know theres some kind of ability to shape the games into something we all could learn to love. Such as with AM2R, the author took ideas Metroid Zero Mission and built upon them. Such as with the missiles having collateral block damage, or the new additions of the Automatons and how fluidly Samus runs and aims. Most of which is very lacking in the GBA games. I loved these games. Im interested in your personal opinions :P

Zero One

I think, for starters, SMILE has existed much longer than any GBATroid editor, so it's built up a much bigger userbase, especially with its variants improving upon it. Not to mention that there exists far more information about how Super Metroid works than the GBATroids. As a result, hacking Super Metroid is likely far easier to get in to.

Quietus

Not to mention that prior to the recent release of the MAGE editor, there hasn't been a user friendly, supported editor. Its creator, Biospark, is very much active, and hands-on with fixes and information. Things will likely pick up once it settles down, and people master its workings, but it'll likely take the first decent hack to be released to really galvanise people, much like Redesign did for Super.

Zero Dozer