News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Metroid: Mechanical Flower

Started by Flower, September 10, 2015, 05:47:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flower

Hey Guys,

I'm totally new to Hacking. I found Metroid to be a good Game to edit.
First of all, Thanks snarfblam! for the wonderful Editroid! It gives me a hook to Hacking without having to deal with hexadecimal asm stuff. Though it's not perfect in drag and drop aspects, it's a fine tool to get started with. Everything else more complicated rather stole my motivation in doing Hacks.

So i just began to hack my own Metroid 1 Adventure. The working title is, as you may have guessed Mechanical Flower. I want to give Zebes a more natural and cavelike look, rather than 1986's flat look. I used snarfblam's save/map/icewave - patch in advance. For the Beginning i find it too hard and time consuming to draw my own tiles, though it would give it a more personal touch.
I just wanted to begin designing levels. So up until now i did much level painting, trying and testing the new environment, dealing with several problems (palette swap stole my mind for example) and thinking of how the game is gonna look when it's finally finished.

I began in September 1st and spent much time on it.
Brinstar is more or less finished (it was just after 5 days), so I believe the whole thing gonna get finished soon.  :^_^:

For some loose first impressions a few pics of the Beginning of Brinstar (yet more to come!)

P.S.: snarfblam, are you still active here for possible questions and troubleshooting? Is Editroid gonna get more updates?
-> EDIT: OK scrolling through the last topics and threads i find this question to be obsolete.

Oh here's another pic of one of my favourite rooms so far (Cavelike-Room with Missiles in Norfair):