News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Update On Blue Glass and the Future... (v2)

Started by AuroraxPhilic, September 20, 2016, 09:28:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AuroraxPhilic

UPDATE:
It's been awhile... When I first started on this Proof of concept, I had high hopes for what could be done in Nestroid. Unfortunately, My vision of what for what I wanted this hack to be cannot be done proper with Nestroid, and I am offically calling this project dead. Tbh... what killed this project was lack of tools, and lack of will. I might move this project off into SM territory, or as a stand alone game in the future...but for now...I leave you ...with v2. A perfected demo: [Below]
============================================================-----

I'll get this out of the way first. I have no clue how to use pictures on here. Yes yes...total noob. So instead, you can view some screenshots here:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B_GjdtGzab54aGVlR1QzVTh1MW8?usp=sharing

Now on to the important parts.

That's right, you read the title right, I have been working on a Metroid Nes hack for god knows how long. In the last week, I decided to knuckle down, and get it into a playable state. This is my first attempt at a Nestroid hack, and it was mainly for the purpose of figuring out how to hack this bloody game. I've definitely learned a thing or two, but I also have much to learn.

The inspiration for the odd door scrolling was from a really old hack with some random doors where morphball used to be. I took this odd concept, and with the help of Snarfblam's Door patch, I was able to go nuts with it. I tried my very best to make many new rooms, but many rooms had to be scrapped due to bad pallet issues. It was an absolute nightmare to fix and get working. I wouldn't be surprised if someone found a way into changing the pallets completely.