News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Technical problems here :(

Started by Ozma, April 27, 2016, 10:13:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ozma

Ieep!!

Hey, I'm a new guy here, cheers to all of you hard working hackers of the game, you're truly doing a great job!!  :yay: However (and I hope I'm at the right place for this, and I hope even more it's not me just being a total noob at this thing...) there's a big number of your hacks I'm just dying to try out, and each and every damn time I try downloading them they seem to NEVER work with my emulators...

What happens: I download a given hack, try to run it in my emulator, the emulator starts up but the game just never loads. I'd assume the given hack is a bogus file or something, so I try and re-download it from another source: same problem applies. It even extends to hacks from other games than Metroid, so I assume I'm doing something wrong... Can someone help me with this?

I'm willing to add up any info needed to solve the problem, so if you need more to help debugging me, ask away. Meanwhile I'll try and find some tutorials for hacking these metroid games, maybe I can come up with something...  :grin:

Thanks in advance, and keep up all the good work!  :yay:

thedopefish

If a hack doesn't work, chances are you didn't patch it correctly.  But based on the wording of your post, maybe you didn't patch anything at all and are trying to load a .IPS in your emulator?

Either way, please read the handy howto guide and see if that helps.

Ozma

Hmmm here's something new... Patching the ROM file? Never heard of this, and yet I do possess a working hack (Metroid Z-Factor) that didn't need any patching. Moreover, I have a few hacks of LoZ A Link to the Past that worked perfectly without any patching involved...