News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

A Metroid editor for DOS?

Started by PKstarship, September 06, 2015, 01:24:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PKstarship

I've recently found out about DOS game editors, a utility I can use with my Android tablet. I wanted to ask, is there a Metroid editor for DOS? I've searched a bit, but I haven't found anything so far...

Quietus

It seems a bizarre thing to request, but I had a look for you anyway. Unfortunately, I too came up with nothing.

snarfblam

In all my years pretending I'm an expert hacker, I've only come across three NES Metroid level editors. Metedit, which was never really fully completed, an Adobe Flash-based editor which was actually kind of slick but I don't know where to find it, and the editor I made, which is clearly mind-blowing. So, since your options are flash or Windows, you're pretty much out of luck.

Quietus

Quote from: snarfblam on September 08, 2015, 06:02:29 PMthe editor I made, which is clearly mind-blowing.
True. The modesty feature is awesome. :grin:

CrAzY

Here is the best advice for your situation. Give up trying to modify any Metroid titles (or really any game) on the Android OS. It's just not going to happen, & if it does, it won't be anytime soon. I am sorry if that is all you have, but it isn't enough. & even if editors did exist.... on the Android, really? Probably using a touchscreen? Get real. No actual game creating is done that way. Get a computer. Even a cheap ass PC that is a decade old could run these editors.

Edit : reading this does sound condescending, but I still stand by the fact that you should do your best to build a really cheap PC somehow, because you seem very interested in making big modifications that are only really feasible to do on a real PC.
Do keep at it with what you have, though. It's clear you seem pretty enthusiastic about Metroid hacking.

PKstarship