News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Newbie here; will equire help at some point...

Started by Einachiel, August 17, 2015, 07:39:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Einachiel

Hi folks!

I've always wanted to create a hack for SM :metroid:. That game changed my perception of video games, it was a turning point for the platformer genre.

Most of the hack I see always have the same Ceres Station start/Mother brain ending. How hard would it be to change this?

You see, I have a dream...

But let's not get too carried away at first; I need to understand the SMILE tool and experiment a bit.

See you around!

PonchGaming

Welcome Einachiel. You should introduce yourself on the introduce yourself thread: http://forum.metroidconstruction.com/index.php/topic,26.0.html

So, I think that there is a patch to skip ceres station, and you can change having mother brain to beat ending, but i would recommend looking through the forums for it.

Mettyk25jigsaw

I think you could probably edit the rooms in Ceres (excluding The elevator shaft and ridleys room) as much as your heart's desire and I am fairly certain you would be able to copy and add more rooms to ceres to make it longer and bigger and more exciting (once again, excluding same 2 rooms).

As for Motherbrain subject, well motherbrain herself is complicated to modify and I don't know if anyone has managed to heavily modify it other than maybe a little. However it is possible I believe to change which boss sets off the timer to end of game. I think I'm sure there is a patch you can use to do that, but not sure of it's location on here, may be on the main site, idk...

Good luck with your project...

EDIt:  OOps, someone just beat me

Einachiel

Is it possible to start from scratch? A very different storyline? A complete overhaul?

Quietus