News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Some questions about SM hacking

Started by TS666, July 01, 2014, 11:04:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TS666

Hi, I'm new at hacking and I'd like to create my own ROM hack, but for that I'd like to ask some questions:

• I can't open the ROM with the newest version of SMILE, whatever I try it returns the error: "Run-time error '76': Path not found".
  • How do I can replace Samus' sprites? (just because I've something on mind but with elements from another saga, I'll try creating the sprites for the new character by myself).
  • How do I can add a key/artifact system? (once all keys or artifacts are collected the final area will be unlocked, just like Eris 2012 or Phazon Hack)
  • A basic tutorial on how to use SMILE to get started? (textual and with images please, not a video).
  • How do I can replace upgrades names and icons?.

That's all from now, I'll be looking fordward for your answers, thanks!.

Vismund Cygnus

1. Read le FAQ.

2. AHAHAHAHAHA.
Srs though. That's a lot more work than I think you think it is. (Sorry for the sass.)
Basically Samus has a lot of sprites. And I have no idea how to edit any of them.

3. Again, that's a really, really advanced kind of thing to do. The fact that you haven't used SMILE before means that there's no way you should even attempt this, not until you've got everything else down. Basically it's a lot of ASM magic, you'd have to manually code the new items you want and then code in the events so that when you've collected them the door/area will be unlocked.

4. Read le docs. You won't find a "basic tutorial with pictures" because I'm too lazy to finish mine, but there's a tutorial for basically everything there. I found Person701's guide helpful when I started