News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Metroid super zéro mission on SD cartridge

Started by Nuage, November 14, 2014, 07:30:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nuage

Hello! 

I'm a big Metroid fan and wanted more than the regular game, so I've bought a Super ufo pro 8 cartridge to play some hacks on my snes.

Problem is I can't get some hack to work :cry:
I've done it this way :
-got an unheadered rom of Super Metroid
-verified it's really unheadered with smile
-got the patch of Metroid super zero mission
-patched the rom with lunar

But when I try to load it on my snes via the SD cartridge, I have an error message "file type error". The rom don't even star to load.

I've tried for hours to make it works, tried to add an header, to check and fix the checksum, with a few Super Metroid rom, even one I dumped myself.
I'm not good with these things, but I tried and failed to understand what is the problem.

Anyone can help me?

Some hack work, like redesign, Justin Bailey.

Thanks a lot.

Parabox

Does Super Metroid run normally? Do you know whether the cart expects .sfc, .smc or different?

Nuage

Yep Super Metroid run perfectly, even when I use some tricky feature of the super ufo pro 8 like the save States, it doesn't crash.

The cart expect SMC, Bin, Rom and some other fancy type I've never met.
Tried with SMC as it's the most common type I guess.

Metaquarius

Does your patched rom even load on emulators ?
Note that most patches are made for NTSC (JU) roms and may not be compatible with PAL (European) roms.

Nuage

Yes the rom works fine on emulator.

My super Nintendo accept both Pal and ntsc cart.
I used Super Metroid JU to patch zero mission.
The rom without patch works fine.

Although I can read that my patched rom has a bad checksum when I load it on snes9x, my original rom is OK. Is that a problem?

I've failed to get a good checksum with the patched rom'