News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

On Starting a Let's Play

Started by ExMetroid, December 16, 2012, 06:30:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ExMetroid

[Split from The Youtube Topic to further discussion and to avoid derailing that thread]

hello  :yay:

i've recently started a SM playtrough on yt.
so any feedback from you guys would help a lot  :yay:
first i started a Sm hack,then i found out im not very good at that,
so i started to make a LP series ,of modded/hacked SM
my first one is Project Base,and i'm hoping for any kind of feedback,here or on yt
positive or negative XD
thanks in advance  :^_^:

Let's Play SM Project base -Part 1

Quietus

My notes on your let's play:?

Your English is fine. :^_^:

Set yourself a goal before you start.
Decide what sort of let's play it's going to be.  Is it a blind run, with commentary just for fun?  Is it designed to be informative?

Be consistent.
Are you talking about the gameplay, or are you generally assessing the hack?  Either way, you should play through the hack before you start your run.  Make a list of all of the things that you want to discuss, and point out to the viewer.  You mention a few things at the start, such as palette changes, and a few altered rooms, but don't mention obvious edits like the bombs, movement physics, or new moves.  For something like Project Base in particular, most viewers will have seen everything in Super Metroid, so they're really only interested in the changes.  Playing through a hack before you start recording will also eliminate errors or backtracking, which viewers don't want to see.

Rehearse.
Check what you want to say about each item on your list before you start recording, so that you avoid stumbling over your words, or forget something you wanted to say.  It'll also allow you to remove a lot of down time (where you just say 'umm...') in your commentary.

Have fun!