News:

Don't forget to visit the main site! There's lots of helpful docs, patches, and more!

Main Menu

Super Metroid Mod Manual -- READ THIS BEFORE ASKING QUESTIONS

Started by begrimed, February 13, 2016, 07:43:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

begrimed

http://www.metroidconstruction.com/SMMM/

After many years of slowly gathering info and tons of hours of writing and editing, this guide is finally finished! It's really happening! SMMM is an attempt to overwhelmingly teach everything there is to know about editing Super Metroid up to a strong intermediate level. An absolute beginner should be able to do almost anything they want to do with Super Metroid's rooms after reading SMMM, or at least know how to ask the right questions and start teaching themselves the harder stuff. It should replace most or all of the existing 'how-to' guides for Super Metroid for a long time.

Spread this guide around some if you like it, won't ya? Also let me know in this topic if I've made any mistakes, or if you think of something important that should be added in.

altoiddealer

Congrats on your release of the guide!

Perhaps one day I will rise up to the challenge, knowing that there is now a solid piece of documentation available.

P.JBoy

Looking good; small note, I'm pretty sure I didn't write room_state_disassembly.txt

Wish I could lose all my SMILE knowledge and read that guide to see how good it really is :D

personitis

You mean roomstate-disassembly.txt? Originally written and loosely commented by me with, in your case, Kej's event bit array ascii picture dropped in. I might also note that I don't believe there are FF events (as I recall, RAM only has room for up to 6F).

Quietus

I'll update this with my full thoughts later, but from what I've read so far, it's great, and would probably warrant a proper announcement on the main site.